California Personal Injury Lawyer- Car Accident Attorney: Michael Rehm
Call (800) 978-0754 – Free Consultations
Personal Injury Attorney
If you suffered an injury because of someone else's negligence, you have recourse. You are bound to incur medical expenses and possibly not work for a period of time, meaning you will lose out on significant income. When the injury is based on the negligent or intentional actions of someone else, you may be able to recover financial compensation from them as a result through a personal injury claim. If you have questions or believe you might be entitled to a claim, contact Attorney Michael Rehm today for assistance.
Statute of Limitations
In California, you must file a personal injury claim within two years from the date of the injury. If you miss this deadline, you will be unable to recover any compensation, even if you otherwise would have had a successful claim.
You Can Recover Compensation Even if You're Partially at Fault
Many people are concerned that they won't be able to recover any monetary compensation if they are even a little bit at fault for the injuries they suffered. Fortunately, this isn't the case. California personal injury law is governed by pure comparative negligence. This means the victim's monetary award will be reduced by the percentage that they are deemed to be at fault. If the court determines that the victim is 20 percent at fault and the award is $100,000, the victim will take home 80 percent of the award, or $80,000. Even if the plaintiff is 99 percent at fault, they can still recover compensation.
Proving a Personal Injury Claim
When a personal injury claim is initiated, you will have to prove several elements to be successful.
Duty. The first thing you must show is that the defendant owed you a duty of care. This refers to their legal obligation to use reasonable care to avoid injuring others. For example, in a car accident case, you will need to show that the other party who caused the accident owed you a duty to use care to keep you and other drivers safe. By simply driving on the roads in California, all drivers are required to exercise reasonable care.
Breach. The next element is a breach of that duty. You must prove that the defendant did something that put you in harm's way in such a manner that it was a breach of this duty. For example, not following certain rules of the road, such as speeding or texting while driving, will be an easy way to show that the defendant breached this duty.
Causation. Next, you must show that the defendant's negligent behavior – speeding or texting while driving – actually caused the accident. If an accident occurred and the defendant was speeding but their speed had nothing to do with why the incident happened, this will not be enough to have a successful claim.
Damages. Finally, you must show that you actually suffered losses. This could be in the form of physical injuries leading to medical expenses, or property damage.
Attorney Michael Rehm Is Here For You
If you or a loved one was injured because of someone else's negligence, you may be eligible to file a personal injury claim. This can help you receive the compensation you deserve to cover medical expenses, lost income, and more. Attorney Rehm has been handling personal injury cases for more than a decade and will do whatever it takes to ensure you get the justice you deserve. If you need help with a personal injury claim in California, don't hesitate to reach out. Contact Attorney Michael Rehm today at (800) 978-0754 for a free consultation.
Personal Injury Pages: